Bergers Book Reviews

The Beloved Word: A Scripture Journal


Author & Illustrator: Joanne Fink
Publisher: Quiet Fox Designs
Genre: Christian / Journal
ISBN: 978-1-64178-026-1
Pages: 128
Price: $7.99

Author’s website
Buy it at Amazon

This blank journal features the artwork of Joanne Fink along with 30 inspiring Bible verses interspersed throughout the book. Soft watercolor enhances the line drawings appearing in the corners and on the margins of the pages. Sturdy hardcover binding and lined pages make for an easy and enjoyable writing experience. This beautiful book is perfect for faith-based notes and journal entries.

Reviewer: Alice Berger

May 18, 2018 Posted by | Christian, journal | Leave a comment

Rufus Blasts Off!


Author: Kim T. Griswell
Illustrator: Valeri Gorbachev
Publisher: Sterling Children’s Books
Genre: Children
ISBN: 978-1-4549-2099-1
Pages: 40
Price: $16.95

Author’s website
Buy it at Amazon

Rufus the pig needs more stories and knows just what to do. He’ll travel off into space so he can tell everyone all about it. But first he has to convince Commander Luna he has the right stuff.

Treats, a blanket, and even a space suit aren’t enough. But when Rufus shows up with a flag proclaiming, “I love reading!” along with a bag full of books, Commander Luna finally agrees. And soon Rufus is on Mars, reading to kids everywhere on TV.

Rufus is such a cute character and kids will admire his persistence as he keeps chasing his dreams. His love of books and reading is contagious, inspiring kids to read just because it’s fun. I highly recommend Rufus Blasts Off!.

Reviewer: Alice Berger

May 16, 2018 Posted by | animals, children | Leave a comment

Whose Baby Butt?


Author: Stan Tekiela
Publisher:Adventure Publications
Genre: Children / Nature
ISBN: 978-1-59193-783-8
Pages: 48
Price: $14.95

Author’s website
Buy it at Amazon

Baby animals have the cutest features, including their fuzzy, little butts. But can you identify the animal by its baby butt? Whose Baby Butt? uses this question to introduce kids to ten adorable baby animals.

One one two-page spread, kids see a photo of the baby butt to identify. A short blurb accompanies it, ending with the question, “Whose baby butt is this?” In the second two-page spread, the baby is pictured in full, often with parents and siblings, along with a description of the animal. The final pages of this book include more facts about the animals pictured.

Kids love baby animals, and they’ll get a kick out of identifying them by their baby butts. I highly recommend this fun nature book.

Reviewer: Alice Berger

May 10, 2018 Posted by | animals, children, nature | Leave a comment

What Eats That?


Author: Ryan Jacobson
Photographer: Stan Tekiela
Publisher: Adventure Publications
Genre: Children / Nature
ISBN: 978-1-59193-749-4
Pages: 32
Price: $14.95

Author’s website
Photographer’s website
Buy it at Amazon

“A food chain is a string of living things that eat (and might be eaten by) other living things.” What Eats That? explains the concept of a food chain to kids, showing the relationships between predator and prey.

Each animal in a food chain is pictured, along with an explanation of what it eats. A teaser then prompts kids to turn the page and find out who eats it. Beginning with a butterfly eating the nectar of a flower, there is a progression all the way up to humans and the natural end of the food chain. Just for fun, kids are encouraged to build their own food chains beginning with a mosquito. The eating habits of the animals pictured are included in the appendix.

As an animal person, I was a bit worried that I’d see cute and cuddly animals described as dinner. But the authors mostly stay away from those prey, focusing more on insects and cold-blooded animals. Kids will enjoy learning about the food chain with this book.

Reviewer: Alice Berger

May 9, 2018 Posted by | animals, children, nature | Leave a comment

Paint by Sticker Kids: Beautiful Bugs


Publisher: Workman Publishing Company
Genre: Children / Art/ Nature
ISBN: 978-1-5235-0295-0
Pages: 34
Price: 9.95

Buy it at Amazon

Creating images of bugs has never been easier with Paint by Sticker Kids: Beautiful Bugs. Each bug design contains numbered stickers that kids can peel and stick in the designated spot on the diagram. Designs are printed on perforated card stock with colorful backgrounds, suitable for displaying their sticker bug creations.

Some of the featured bugs include: ladybug, spider, beetles, firefly, and butterflies, as well as many other interesting creatures. The age range listed for this book is K-6, but younger children may need some adult assistance to make sure the stickers end up in the right place. Tweezers are recommended for proper placement, and stickers are not removable.

Each design is a puzzle which can only be revealed by proper placement of the stickers, so kids will enjoy the act of creating a beautiful bug. I highly recommend this enjoyable nature activity book.

Reviewer: Alice Berger

May 3, 2018 Posted by | animals, art, children, nature | Leave a comment

Labyrinth


Artist: David Baloche
Format: Audio CD
Price: $11.99

Website
Buy it at Amazon

Tracks:
He Hears My Voice
Nothing Can Separate
Come to Me
Green Pastures
Those Who Hope
Lead Me to the Rock
Groanings Too Deep for Words
As a Father Carries His Son
The Peace of God
My Help Comes From the Lord

Beautiful instrumental and electronic music accompanies repetitive phrases, encouraging a meditative state as the listener hears and absorbs these reassuring words from Scripture. The peacefulness of this CD reminds me of Gregorian chant for the modern listener. Highly recommended!

Reviewer: Alice Berger

May 2, 2018 Posted by | music | Leave a comment

The Misadventures of Michael McMichaels Vol. 3: The Creepy Campers


Author: Tony Penn
Illustrator: Brian Martin
Publisher: Boys Town Press
Genre: Children
ISBN: 978-1-944882-10-5
Pages: 88
Price: $7.95

Author’s website
Buy it at Amazon

Michael McMichaels is at summer camp with his friend, Kenny, but as they check in for the week, he realizes something is terribly amiss. Instead of simply letting the kids swim and play games all week, the camp counselors have other plans. They will all be competing for the lofty prize of Camper of the Week.

The competitive spirit rises up in most of the campers, making them take risks and scheme in ways they might never have dreamed about before. But being Camper of the Week becomes their most important goal. And if they cheat or scare others off, so what? It’s only in the name of friendly competition.

The Creepy Campers is a humorous look at cheating and deception taken to extremes, and why it’s such a disastrous idea. Kids will enjoy reading this funny story while learning a lesson in the process.

Reviewer: Alice Berger

May 1, 2018 Posted by | children | Leave a comment

Always Fall Forward


Author: Todd Gerelds
Publisher: Tyndale Momentum
Genre: Christian / Inspiration
ISBN: 978-1-4964-2480-8
Pages: 240
Price: $17.99

Author’s website
Buy it at Amazon

Todd Gerelds, author of Woodlawn, learned a lot of life lessons from his father, Coach Tandy Gerelds, as he was growing up. Always Fall Forward explores some of these words of wisdom from on and off the football field.

Since Coach Gerelds often shared his life advice using analogies from football, Todd takes a similar approach in these 52 short weekly chapters. Each opens with a Bible verse and closes with some additional recommended reading, along with a couple of probing questions. Mindset, preparation, offensive, and defensive tactics offer insights into human nature and how to live a Christian life to the fullest.

Coach Gerelds had a strong faith, as well as a great work ethic, and Todd shares some his dad’s best advice in this book. I highly recommend Always Fall Forward, especially for men.

Reviewer: Alice Berger

April 27, 2018 Posted by | Christian, inspiration | Leave a comment

Decluttering at the Speed of Life


Author: Dana K. White
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Genre: House & Home
ISBN: 978-0-18080600
Pages: 240
Price: $16.99

Author’s website
Buy it at Amazon

Living in a messy home is stressful and inefficient. But how many times do we buy the latest and greatest organizing system, only to fail in our attempts to use it? The problem most likely isn’t our lack of ability, but merely the overabundance of stuff cluttering our lives.

Rather than tackling all this extra stuff with the intent to organize it, Dana K. White of A Slob Comes Clean provides the steps needed to declutter, making organization so much easier. White asks two simple questions designed to determine if an item is useful or valuable, and where it belongs if it passes both tests. If it doesn’t, it’s trashed or donated. These questions are applied to each room in the house, as she guides us through the decluttering process. Beginning with our most visible places, we tackle each spot, one at a time, making progress as we go.

Decluttering at the Speed of Life doesn’t asks that we make a huge mess while we declutter. We can grab a few moments as we have time, maybe clearing off a kitchen counter or dining room table as we go. But as we continue to follow these steps, we’re guaranteed to have a neater home. I highly recommend this wonderful resource.

Reviewer: Alice Berger

April 23, 2018 Posted by | home | Leave a comment

Bigfoot Seek and Find Books


Title: Bigfoot Visits the Big Cities of the World
Author: D.L. Miller
Publisher: Happy Fox Books
Genre: Seek and Find / Geography
ISBN: 978-1-64124-001-7
Pages: 48
Price: $14.99

Buy it at Amazon

Bigfoot has decided to travel around the world, making stops in New York City, Athens, London, Venice, Tokyo, Toronto, San Francisco, Istanbul, and the Forbidden City. A tour guide to each city precedes the search and find puzzle. Kids are asked to not only find Bigfoot and his legendary footprint in the two-page picture, but also several other people and items that might normally be seen in the city.


Title: Bigfoot Goes on Vacation
Author: D.L. Miller
Publisher: Happy Fox Books
Genre: Seek and Find / Geography
ISBN: 978-1-64124-000-0
Pages: 48
Price: $14.99

Buy it at Amazon

Bigfoot has decided to take a vacation, taking a cruise, going camping and deep sea diving, visiting the carnival, the African Plains, Yellowstone, the beach, a farm, a balloon festival, and Mini-Golf World. A visitor’s guide to each activity precedes the search and find puzzle. Kids are asked to not only find Bigfoot and his legendary footprint in the two-page picture, but also several other people and items that might normally be seen in the area.

Seek and find puzzles are challenging and fun activities for kids. In these two Bigfoot books, they not only have the opportunity to work on the puzzles, but also to learn a little bit about the cities and vacation spots described. I highly recommend them both.

Reviewer: Alice Berger

April 20, 2018 Posted by | adventure, children, geography | Leave a comment